Facebook has over 2.9 billion monthly active users and continues to grow.
With such a large user base, it’s no surprise that people are using the site to connect with friends and family, share news and experiences, and even find love.
But what you could do when someone you don’t want to hear from keeps popping up in your feed?
You can block them.
Blocking someone on Facebook is easy and can be done in a few steps. You can block someone or you may get blocked by someone on Facebook for any reason that depends on you.
What Happens When You Block Someone On Facebook
When you block someone on Facebook, they will no longer be able to see things you post on your timeline, tag you in posts, comments or photos, invite you to events or groups, start a conversation with you, or add you as a friend. If you’re friends with someone and you block them, you will also be unfriended.
Why does someone want to block you on Facebook?
Sometimes, people may block others on Facebook for various reasons. Some reasons why someone might block you on Facebook include if you repeatedly post offensive comments, if you spam their inbox with messages, or simply if they want to stay away from you. If you’re not sure why someone has blocked you on Facebook, you can try contacting them directly to ask.
Find more: Why would someone block you on Facebook?
Do friends get notified when you block them on Facebook?
No! Facebook does not notify people when someone blocks them on Facebook. However, they won’t be able to send you messages, see your profile or connect to you in any way, this will make them understand you have blocked them.
If you block someone on Facebook will their likes still show on your posts?
No! As soon as you block someone on Facebook, any likes (or other reactions) they’ve left or you’ve left on their posts/comments/photos will be removed.
If I block someone on Facebook, can they see me through mutual friends?
No! When you block someone on Facebook, both of you will not be able to see each other through mutual friends. Blocked means blocked from everywhere!
Can someone see if you blocked them on Facebook messenger?
It depends on whether you have blocked them only on Messenger or entirely from Facebook. If you have blocked them only on Messenger, they would not be able to send you messages but still can view your profile, interact with your posts, tag you on their posts etc.
If you block someone on Facebook does it unfriend them?
YES! Blocking someone will automatically remove them from your friend list. So, if you want to connect with them in future, you need to unblock them and again need to send a friend request.
If I block someone on Facebook will they see old messages?
Yes! Blocking someone on Facebook does not delete old conversations. They can still read old messages but no longer be able to send you further messages.
Is it better to block or unfriend someone on Facebook?
It depends on the reason behind it. Sometimes you can get rid of the person just by unfriending them while sometimes it doesn’t work and you have to be forced to block them.
So, it’s important to understand the situation and take a decision. It’s advisable to talk with them and get to other solutions rather than blocking them on Facebook. But the choice is yours!
When you block someone on Facebook what do they see?
They don’t see anything and even they would not be notified when you block someone on Facebook. It’s a kind of way to end communication between you two.
Can I see who blocked me on FB?
There is no sure way of finding out who has blocked you on Facebook. This is because Facebook does not notify users when they have been blocked. If you are suspicious that someone has blocked you, there are a few methods you can use to try to find out.
This article has covered some possible ways on: How to know if someone blocked you on Facebook
Can a blocked person on Facebook see my public posts?
No Way! If you block someone on Facebook they cannot see any of your public posts, even if they are tagged in them. When you block someone, Facebook removes that person from your list of friends and they can no longer see anything you post on the site, even if it’s public.
How long does a person stay blocked on Facebook?
Until they are unblocked by the person who blocked them! Facebook has given you the option to unblock the person who was blocked by you. Using this feature, users can unblock the person they have blocked and again continue the relationship they were in.
How to find people I blocked on facebook?
Tap on menu at the top right of facebook > Scroll down and tap Setting & Privacy > Tap on Setting > Tap on Profile Setting > Tap on Blocking, Then you will see a list of people you have blocked on Facebook.
How to block someone on Facebook?
Follow the steps below to block someone on Facebook
- Open the profile of whom you would like to block
- Tap on the three dots (…) just after the message or call button
- Tap on Block
- Tap again on Block to confirm your decision
Using another method
- Tap on the menu at the top right of Facebook
- Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy
- Tap on Setting
- Tap on Profile Setting
- Tap on Blocking
- Tap on ADD TO BLOCKED LIST
- Find the profile of the person whom you would like to block
- Tap on Block to confirm your decision
Although blocking someone may seem like a harsh solution, it’s usually the best way to deal with someone who is repeatedly harassing you.
I hope you find this blog post helpful.
Thanks for reading…