Social media has become an integral part of our lives. It allows us to stay connected with our friends and family, keeps us informed about current events, and helps us discover new interests.
It also allows staying away from something or someone you don’t like. This is what the Facebook blocking feature is for.
You can easily block any users, pages and anything you don’t like to see on your Facebook feed. Likewise, you may also get blocked by someone.
But How to know if someone blocked you on Facebook?
Well, If you’re trying to figure out whether or not someone has blocked you on Facebook, there are a few key things to look for.
While Facebook does not tell you if someone blocked you on Facebook to protect users’ privacy, there are several things you can look to confirm if someone blocked you on Facebook.
In this article, We will show you some quick and easy ways on how to tell if someone blocked you on Facebook.
Now, let’s get into it…
Note: Whenever someone blocks you, you will see similar signs as when their Facebook account has been terminated or deactivated. So make sure to check their profile using friends of friends’ Facebook accounts. If you are able to view their profile through others’ Facebook accounts but not through yours, consider that you have been blocked by the person.
How to know if someone blocked you on Facebook
Here are a few signs you might notice on how to tell if someone blocked you on Facebook.
#1. You cant find them on the search result
Check to see if you can find the person’s profile by searching with their name.
Login to your Facebook account on a web browser or using your mobile app and type their name on the search bar inside Facebook.
It should show you the person’s profile at the top of the search suggestion.
If you can’t see their profile in search suggestions or even on the search result page, it’s possible that they’ve either deactivated their account or blocked you.
#2. They are not on your friend list
This is the most obvious way to tell if someone has blocked you on Facebook. If you can’t find them in a search and you’re no longer friends, it’s likely they’ve blocked you.
- Go to your Facebook profile
- Check the All Friends section.
- Search for the person
- If you don’t find them, they might have blocked you.
#3. You can’t tag them on your Facebook posts or can’t mention them in comments
Compose a Facebook post and try to tag the person. If they can not be tagged or you do not find their profile to tag, it means either they have an issue with their Facebook account or they might have blocked you.
Also, attempt to mention them in the comments and check whether or not you will be able to do so.
You may also like: How to prevent people from tagging you on Facebook
#4. You can’t invite them to like Facebook pages or join Facebook groups
Create a Facebook page or a group and attempt to invite them to like your page or join your group. If no result is found even if you have spelt their name correctly, they might have either blocked you or unfriended you.
#5. You will no more see their posts on your feed
When you get blocked by someone on Facebook, you will no more see their posts on your feed. But this is not an effective way to know if someone blocked you on Facebook as facebook’s algorithm decides whether or not to serve their posts to your feed. Also, The person might have set the privacy settings to exclude you from viewing their posts.
#6. You will not be able to view their profile
If you are blocked by someone on Facebook, you will not be able to see the person’s profile when you Go through their Facebook profile URL.
Facebook assigns a unique URL (user name) to all users. This is often a variation of the user’s name, such as Amrita.sapx or Pratima16171.
If your username is bibek.sensei, people can directly access your profile with the URL: Facebook.com/bibek.sensei using the web browser.
This way, If you know the username of that suspect and try to visit their profile using this method, you will see an error message called “This content isn’t available at the moment”. This means they might have blocked you on Facebook.
#7. You can’t send them messages
And another easiest way to tell if someone blocked you on Facebook is to attempt to send a private message.
Open Facebook Messenger and open up the old conversation and then try to write and send some texts…If you see an error message called “This person is not contactable on messenger”, they have likely blocked you or their account has been deactivated or deleted.
These were some possible ways on how to know if someone blocked you on Facebook.
Since the matter is about your friendship, relationship, business or emotion, It’s important not to jump to conclusions quickly..
You should at least try to contact the person through another medium and ask what the reality is…
I hope you find this guide helpful….
Have you ever blocked someone on Facebook? Please share with us through comments.
How to know if someone blocked you on Facebook | FAQs
What is the difference between blocked and unfriended?
Blocking someone means you two are completely invisible to each other and there is no way to interact with the person on Facebook at all.
On other side, when you unfriend someone on Facebook, you still can view their profile and even chat through messenger. These all depend on the privacy setting you have set on your account.
What to do if you have been blocked on Facebook?
If you have been blocked on Facebook, First, try to figure out why you were blocked. If it was a mistake, you can try contacting the person who blocked you and asking them to unblock you. If you were blocked for a good reason, like if you were harassing someone, then you will need to accept that you will not be able to contact the person who blocked you.
How to Contact a Facebook user that Blocked You?
There are actually several ways you can reach out to a Facebook user that has blocked you. You can look up their profile on a mutual friend’s account, send them a message through their account, or try to find their contact information through a public records search. You can also try to reach out to them on other social media platforms.